

COUNCIL MEMBER JIMMY PELUSO DISTRICT 7 OFFICE (904) 255-5207 FAX (904) 255-5230 SUITE 425, CITY HALL 117 WEST DUVAL STREET JACKSONVILLE, FL 32202 E-MAIL: JPELUSO@COJ.NET

## **Meeting Minutes**

Location: Lynwood Roberts Room, First Floor of City Hall, 117 West Duval Street

Attendance: Council Member Jimmy Peluso, Council Member Ju'Coby Pittman, Council Member Randy White, Council Member Terrance Freeman, Council Member Michael Boylan, Chief of Current Planning Laurie Santana, North Florida Transportation Planning Organization (TPO) Executive Director Jeff Sheffield, Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) Urban Transportation Development Manager Jim Knight, Executive Council Assistant Gerri Ford-Hardin, Executive Council Assistant Brooks Dame, Lilly Delvecchio - Construction and Engineering Services Consultants (C&ES), Holly Walker (C&ES), Nick Brooks - Action News Jacksonville

## Meeting Convened: 1:40 p.m.

Council Member Jimmy Peluso opened the meeting and welcomed the attendees. He noted this meeting is part of the annual process for the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization (TPO). Executive Director Jeff Sheffield confirmed the process: Duval County, represented in the meeting by the Council Members who sit on the TPO Board of Directors, will agree on a 2024 List of Priority Projects, that list will be turned into legislation to go before the full Jacksonville City Council, then if approved, will to to the TPO to be part of the TPO's Annual List of Priority Projects. The TPO Annual List of Priority Projects includes a prioritized listing of state highway, mass transit, and Transportation Alternative Program (TAP), Resurfacing projects, and Sun Trail Projects for Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns Counties.

Chief of Current Planning Laurie Santana explained the Draft 2024 List of Priority Projects. She noted the projects in blue ink were new as of 2024 and orange ink were already funded. Chief Santana, Urban Transportation Development Manager Jim Knight, and Executive Director Sheffield explained the strategy. Chief Santana asked for Council Members to pass along any schools that may qualify for the Safe Route to School program. Council Member Randy White acknowledged the need to work on Normandy Blvd. strategically due to the magnitude of the project and impending growth in the area. Council Member Terrance Freeman noted this may been an Eviction Route; Mr. Sheffield agreed. Council Member Michael Boylan shared his support for the roadway project for State Road 13; Chief Santana confirmed it was funded.



COUNCIL MEMBER JIMMY PELUSO DISTRICT 7 OFFICE (904) 255- 5207 FAX (904) 255-5230 SUITE 425, CITY HALL 117 WEST DUVAL STREET JACKSONVILLE, FL 32202 E-MAIL: JPELUSO@COJ.NET

Mr. Sheffield confirmed the TPO, FDOT, and COJ, look continuously to see what grants and pots of funding could be used to accomplish these projects. Mr. Knight noted that FDOT begin design once they are confident the project would be completed.

Council Member Randy White motioned to approve the draft 2024 list of priorities; seconded by Council Member Boylan. All approved. Chief Santana to work with Office of General Counsel to file a Resolution to provide the City's 2024 List of Priority Projects Related to Transportation Improvements as a recommendation to the North FL Transportation Planning Organization.

With no further questions, the meeting was adjourned.

Meeting Adjourned: 2:07 p.m.

Minutes prepared by Brooks Dame, Executive Council Assistant to Council Member Jimmy Peluso. The following items were submitted for public record and can be accessed by contacting the Legislative Services:

20240206 Noticed Meeting CM Peluso RE Duval County 2024 List of Priority Projects 20240206 Agenda Noticed Meeting CM Peluso RE Duval County 2024 List of Priority Projects 20240206 Minutes Noticed Meeting CM Peluso RE Duval County 2024 List of Priority Projects 20240206 Handout 1 Noticed Meeting CM Peluso RE Duval County 2024 List of Priority Projects 20240206 Attendance Noticed Meeting CM Peluso RE Duval County 2024 List of Priority Projects

cc: Council Members and Staff Margaret "Peggy" Sidman, Director/Council Secretary Merriane Lahmeur, Chief, Legislative Services
Yvonne Mitchell, Chief, Administrative Services Division
Jeff Clements, Chief, Research Division
Teresa Eichner, Chief, Public Information
CITYC@COJ.NET
Electronic Notice Kiosk – 1st Floor City Hall
Public Notice System
City Council Web Page
Media Box
File Copy